Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Seventeenth, level on 33. Abacá, a James Beard-nominated Filipino-Californian restaurant, is downstairs, and pets of any size stay free.
There's an evening wine hour and record players in the rooms.
Nothing is published for cruisers, and valet is $75.
Book it for dinner, and a cab to Pier 27.
Book it if
- Food lovers
- Pet owners with a big dog
Look elsewhere if
- You want a pool.
- You need to leave the car.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Kimpton Alton publishes.
Abacá downstairs, a James Beard-nominated Filipino-Californian restaurant, plus Kimpton's evening wine hour, loaner bikes and record players in the rooms.
The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.
Not stated.
The hotel gives no distance to Pier 27. It puts Fisherman's Wharf 0.2 miles away and Pier 39 0.7.
Valet $75 plus tax a night, registered guests only. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Night-Before Score: 33 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. Here’s how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself.
The hotel doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts SFO about 19 miles away.
The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it.
The hotel gives no distance to Pier 27. It puts Fisherman's Wharf 0.2 miles away and Pier 39 0.7.
From SFO without a hotel shuttle
BART runs from the International Terminal to downtown in about 30 minutes for $11.15. The airport guide has the rest.
The hotel doesn't mention an airport shuttle.
The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it.
The hotel gives no distance to Pier 27. It puts Fisherman's Wharf 0.2 miles away and Pier 39 0.7.
From OAK without a hotel shuttle
The BART connector runs 9 minutes to Coliseum, then it's 21 minutes to downtown San Francisco; the fare is $12.65. The airport guide has the rest.
Valet $75 plus tax a night, registered guests only. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Parking for your stay: Valet $75 plus tax a night, registered guests, in and out; IHG’s page says both no oversize vehicles and $95 for oversize.
The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it.
The hotel gives no distance to Pier 27. It puts Fisherman's Wharf 0.2 miles away and Pier 39 0.7.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.
Which terminal
Pier 27Princess and Carnival sail from Pier 27 on the northern Embarcadero; on a busy day a ship can use Pier 35, a short walk north.
Source: sfport.comDistance
No mileage statedThe hotel gives no distance to Pier 27. It puts Fisherman's Wharf 0.2 miles away and Pier 39 0.7.
Source: altonhotelsf.comShuttle departures
No shuttleKimpton Alton runs no shuttle you’d need to time, so a taxi or rideshare leaves when you do.
Source: ihg.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmedValet $75 plus tax a night, registered guests only. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Source: ihg.comParking by the pier
From $20 a dayThere's no parking at the terminal; Ace Parking on The Embarcadero, about an 18-minute walk, lists $20 a day for a compact car, plus a $2 fee. Compare every parking option.
Source: sfcruiseshipparking.comThe evening and the morning
The evening
Food or bar on siteAbacá downstairs, a James Beard-nominated Filipino-Californian restaurant, plus Kimpton's evening wine hour, loaner bikes and record players in the rooms.
Breakfast
Not statedNot stated.
Address
Jones Street, Fisherman's Wharf2700 Jones Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Kimpton Alton publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
To check in, per the hotel.
Resort fee
None stated
Wi-Fi
Free
Parking for your stay
Valet $75 plus tax a night, registered guests, in and out; IHG’s page says both no oversize vehicles and $95 for oversize
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Not stated
Pool
None
Pets
Pets of any size or breed, no extra charge.
Food and drink on site
- AbacáJames Beard-nominated Filipino-Californian restaurant
- Evening wine hourKimpton's
Rooms
Essential and Premium rooms, one-bedroom suites; record players in the rooms.
Accessibility
The hotel’s pages don’t detail accessible rooms. Call before you book if you need one.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Cable car0.1 mi
- Fisherman's Wharf0.2 mi
- Pier 390.7 mi
- Golden Gate Bridge3.6 mi
Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- Loaner bikes and in-room yoga mats
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM. Minimum age 18.
- Valet $75 plus tax. IHG's page says both no oversize vehicles and $95 for oversize cars.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Breakfast
- Whether you can park while you cruise
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 26, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
Worth a look alongside it
Wake up at Fisherman's Wharf, a short cab or streetcar from the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Kimpton Alton for the night before. No payment on the form.
Kimpton Alton FAQ
Does Kimpton Alton have a cruise shuttle?
Not that it publishes. The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it.
Does Kimpton Alton have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. From San Francisco International: The hotel doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts SFO about 19 miles away. From Oakland International: The hotel doesn't mention an airport shuttle.
Can I park at Kimpton Alton while I cruise?
The hotel doesn't say. Valet $75 plus tax a night, registered guests only. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
How far is Kimpton Alton from the cruise terminal?
The hotel gives no distance to Pier 27. It puts Fisherman's Wharf 0.2 miles away and Pier 39 0.7. In our ranking it's in the “by the waterfront” band.
Can I check in early or check out late at Kimpton Alton?
Kimpton Alton checks in at 4:00 PM and out at 11:00 AM, per the hotel, with no early, late or bag-storage terms published. Ask when you book.
What time is breakfast at Kimpton Alton on sail morning?
Kimpton Alton's pages don't mention breakfast, so plan on coffee on the way to the ship.
Can I charge an EV or park an oversized vehicle at Kimpton Alton?
Kimpton Alton doesn't say whether it has EV charging, and it publishes no height limit or oversized parking. Metropolis publishes no rate or size limit. The port's limits are on the parking page.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
